The Value of Prayer

This month has been one of the best beginnings to a new year that I have ever experienced. It’s been fun to not even think about watching the TV anymore and spending more quality time with my family when I am at home. My new thing I’m doing is when I’m home, I am home. No distractions will hinder me from being able to spending time with Jourdan and George Michael.

Not only has no screen time been helping me personally; I’ve also been encouraged by the books that I’ve been reading. One of the newest books that was added to my list for this year is Knowing God by J. I. Packer. I can already tell that this book is going to one of those books that will be on a constant reading cycle in my life. It has been very encouraging to read and see how it has already changed my view of how I see my relationship with God.

One of the statements that Packer provokes the readers of in the book is in chapter 2 pg. 26. The statements says this, “a little knowledge of God is worth more than a great deal of knowledge about Him.”

Huh… What does that even mean? Well what Packer wants to pose the question to the reader is do you have a lot of head-knowledge of God and no how to sound like you have the most incredible walk with Him? Or do you have a real, deep, intimate relationship with God. Lets turn that question around to us. Do you know how to sound like the “perfect” christians among your friends and family? Or do you have that unshaken and anchored faith in Christ’s work on the cross that gave you the ability to have relationship with the Father through the empowerment of the Holy Spirit?

To some this may be a reality check, but I have to ask  myself this question daily. I’ve come to the conclusion that I am not good at the acting like I know what I’m doing. I have to choose to put my pride aside and humble myself and ask for daily help from the Lord.

This new years goal that Jourdan and I both have is to grow in our spiritual disciplines. Lemme tell ya, it’s not a easy thing to do. Hence the reason we are doing new monthly fasts to keep us on toes. We have to put things in front of us to challenge ourselves so we can see breakthrough in our spiritual walks.

Packer pulls four great points that I would like to share with you:

  1. Those who know God have great energy for God.
  2. Those who know God have great thoughts of God.
  3. Those who know God show great boldness for God.
  4. Those who know God have great contentment in God.

These are four simple tests that will help you distinguish the differences in our walks with Christ if we know Him personally, or if we simply know about Him. One thing that Packer says toward this middle of this chapter says this, “people who know their God are before anything else are people who pray…”

What this all boils down to is are you someone who believes in the power of prayer? Do you use prayer not only as a means of submitting your requests to God, but as a way to have daily talks with Him for the intention just to know Him more? We have direct access to pray to God without any of the hassle that people in the Old Testament and New Testament had to deal with. (For an example of the things that the people of the OT and the NT had to work with in the temples, read the book of the Bible called Leviticus for examples of that.)

One thing that I want to encourage you to do is to use your time that you would normally spend praying for (____ fill in the blank), instead thank God for His goodness, His faithfulness, His unfailing love, His graciousness, His Son Jesus, His Holy Spirit, the air you breath, and so on. Turn the time spent in prayer from just reading off the list of requests to first thanking Him and humbling yourself before Him and spending time with Him. Get to know Him more by acknowledging who He is and how He works in your life.

-Brandon

Leave a Reply

