Multitasking – Reading Multiple Books at Once

It’s been a little over a week since Jourdan and I started fasting screen time, and the more and more time that passes, the more and more time I don’t even think about the TV in the living room. Fun fact, I actually stayed up the latest I have in a long time (midnight) the other night to finish reading the sixth Harry Potter book. If you’re not impressed by my achievement of saying up “late”, you should know that I’m normally asleep by 9:30.

Anyways, Jourdan and I made it a goal to try and read through 3 books each, and I’m going to be honest I don’t know how I will be able to do that. I am one of those people who reads 5-6 books at a time, so nailing down 3 to read completely is going to be a difficult task. However, I have finished one book already, that being the Harry Potter book that I stayed up late to finish the other night.

Right now, a few books that I am reading are:

Tim Keller’s Meaning of Marriage,

Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s Ethics,

Martyn Lloyd Jones’ Romans Commentary of Chapter 1,

J I Packer’s Knowing God,

Martyn Lloyd Jones’ The Christian Warfare (Ephesians 6:10-13 commentary), and

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

The way I look at it is I am trying to balance the more difficult reads out with fun/easier reading. I would say the most challenging book on that list is Ethics; it is kicking my tail at the moment. I can seriously only read about 6 pages before I have to put it down to try and grasp everything that is zooming around in my mind.

When it comes to reading, I would strongly encourage that when you try to read more dense theological books that you balance it out with a fun fiction book. It not only helps you break up the intensity of the book, but it also allows you to be reading another book. Which helps you get better at reading, therefore helps you get better at reading the harder books on your list.

Now enough of me jabbering, try this tactic out for yourself. Get a book that you want to read that is going to challenge you in your walk with Christ, and read it slow and allow yourself time comprehend everything that is being spoken through that book to sink into your life. Then, at the same time, read something fictional to help keep you in the practice of reading.

Forming new habits can be difficult, but I think you will be surprised that if you try this tactic out you will be reading more books that you thought you could! This is coming form the guy who did not use to read more than the required reading of text messages to now reading as much as I can get my hands on.

-Brandon

Leave a Reply

