Thoughts on “The Ideal Team Player”

Well, Brandon and I are officially two days into our year of fasting. Just in case someone needs to catch up, my husband and I are doing different challenges every month this year. In January, we are taking a break from social media, television, and really any extra functions on our phone that aren’t “necessary.”

Tonight when we got home, all we wanted to do was veg out and binge a good show. However, already this challenge is making some significant room in our day. For example, instead of dishes piling up (like they so easily do, am I right?), we have actually stayed on top of doing the dishes and EVERY room in the apartment is actually clean.

On top of that, I have been able to read a few books. Now, usually, I am the type of person that barely reads even a couple of books a year. I love reading, but I somehow always get by behind the facade of “not having enough time.” I’m realizing that I lie to myself more often than I thought.

One of the books I picked up is “The Ideal Team Player” by Patrick Lencioni. Its a business/leadership book that highlights what Lencioni claims are the three virtues that are absolutely necessary for healthy, teamwork behavior: humble, hungry, and smart. While these concepts sound simple, they are brilliantly unpacked throughout the book.

I somewhat expected it to be a dense read. I expected to have to focus, re-read, and highlight all along the way to fully retain the message of the book. That being said, I was very surprised when I realized that the book is actually, primarily written in novel form. Lencioni’s style makes the book so easy to read and retain.

This “leadership fable” follows a man, Jeff, who becomes the CEO of a business in an industry that he has zero experience in after a family member, who used to be the CEO, falls ill. There are some major staffing and employee retention issues, and two projects coming up that are larger than anything the company had done previously. Jeff’s simple answer: teamwork. Jeff and his executives first seek to practically identify the values of a team-player and then look to hire and fire accordingly.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is employed anywhere. Whether you are a shift lead at Starbucks, a up-and-comer at a huge corporation, or anything in between,  this read would benefit you.

Find a copy here:

The Ideal Team Player by Patrick Lencioni

https://www.amazon.com/Ideal-Team-Player-Recognize-Cultivate/dp/1119209595/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1483407016&sr=8-1&keywords=the+ideal+team+player+by+patrick+lencioni

And while you’re at it, pick up How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

https://www.amazon.com/How-Win-Friends-Influence-People/dp/0671027034/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1483407118&sr=8-1&keywords=how+to+win+friends+and+influence+people

– Jourdan


Leave a comment